Current Time: 06:03 pm EDT

Interview with A. M. Esmonde

Downloadable Entire Thread (For Excel, use Save As...) 1
  Creator Post Date

Dr Van Helsing

Members of the Realm, this week I had the pleasure of interviewing horror author A. M. Esmonde. He is the author of The Breathing Dead, Blood Hunger & Deathwatch. A. M. Esmonde lives in Wales, United Kingdom. He is an avid fan of all genres of film, books, music and art alike, although he has written many stories and screen-plays, The Breathing Dead was his first adventure horror, young adult novelette to be published.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing for nearly 20 years, since I was 12, I was about 18 when I knocked out my first screen-play, which I plugged for many years before getting a break. Unfortunately, the film company got into financial problems and became a distributer and my script ended up in development hell.

Why did you select the horror genre?

I love horror, all kinds. I've always been drawn to horror since a child, intrigued by ghost stories, ominous book covers, illustrations of Hans Christian Andersen, the Grimm brothers and scary video sleeves.

Do any other genres appeal to you?

Sci-Fi, horror and sci-fi they seem to go hand in hand. I'm working on a sci-fi at the moment called 'The Final Version'. I like most fiction, thrillers and true crime.

From start to finish, how long does it take you to complete a book?

Umm, depends on how much research I need to do and the editing process.

Were you an avid reader growing up?

I was mostly an avid comic book reader . I loved Marvel, Asterix and the Beano. I'm not sure if you'd be familiar with them but I was fond of Roger Hargreaves Mr. Men children's books. This may sound a bit weird but my mother was/is a big reader, and I'd read Jackie Collins (don't ask), H.G. Wells, Stephen King, H.P Lovecraft and James Herbert.

Did you put a lot of effort into your writing or did the process come
easily to you?