Current Time: 07:31 am EDT

Interview with Felicia Tatum

Downloadable Entire Thread (For Excel, use Save As...) 1 | 2 | Next
  Creator Post Date

Zeddicus Zorander

Since Bloodletting is a writing site, we have lots of people here who are interested in writing their own stories. Do you have any tips or advice for aspiring authors?
--Write what is in your heart. If you truly want to be a writer, don’t let fear stop you. I’m scared every single day, but I love it so much that I keep on. The rewards are far greater than the fear.

When did you start writing?
--When I was 12! I remember sitting in history class writing in a notebook instead of payingattention.

What made you decide to publish your book?
--A few dreams…one about the actual book, and more where I was an author. I felt like it was what I was supposed to do.

What motivates you to write?
--My daughter. I want to be able to stay home with her after I finish grad school and writing would allow that.

Do you ever feel frustrated with your work?
--Yes. I feel particularly frustrated when my characters don’t cooperate like they should!

What makes you keep writing when you get frustrated?
--I yell at my characters and keep on. It eventually calms down.

How do you get over writer's block?
--Well…I don’t actually get “writer’s block”…more like I’m lazy and just don’t want to drown out all the noise to write. I make myself do it. Close myself up in the bedroom and just let the words flow.

How do you handle negative reviews of your books?
--I haven’t actually had a “negative” review…yet. I’m preparing myself by realizing that everyone won’t love my work. And that’s ok. I don’t love all the books out there (but oh how I wish I did!), so I can’t expect everyone to love mine.

There's a lot of distractions around, especially with social media, how do you block it all out and write?